Art and Faith

Tuesday, 26 February 2008

Ilya Repin. A Study for “The Zaporozhe Cossacks Write a Mocking Letter to the Turkish Sultan”. 1880

00 Ilya Repin. A Study for 'The Zaporozhe Cossacks Write a Mocking Letter to the Turkish Sultan'. 1880

A Study for “The Zaporozhe Cossacks Write a Mocking Letter to the Turkish Sultan”

Ilya Repin

1880

______________________________

Repin made this study in preparation for his larger-scale work completed in 1891. Even so, I believe that this more modest piece has its own voice, more intimate and more human in scale. I seem to think that the cossacks are having more fun in this version. I am posting another week of Repin as I have so many works by him in my files. I can truthfully say that even adding a week more of posting shall NOT exhaust my collection, so, you can see more at another point in future. Oh, yes… the theme today is “cossacks”.

BMD

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

